Homework

Homework is a curious thing for me at the moment. I still bring a few work things home, like spreadsheets of proposed budgets for the next financial year so I can smooth out the edges and make sure the toughest budgets are in the right weeks (that is, in the weeks when we have better than a snowball’s chance in hell of meeting tough budgets). But most of the time I manage to get work done at work. So I should, considering that I spend so much time there in my present role.

But there is that other kind of homework, the kind that actually comes with study. Around the time of my last post I completed the first assignment for my Business Accounting and Finance unit (actually, it was the first part of a two-part project). Because this unit is so far outside my usual work experience, I didn’t have my usual confidence that my wordpower combined with my brainpower and my experience would see me through to an edequate result for the assignment. I have to say, I was actually stressing for a couple of days about whether what I had submitted was good enough to pass the assessment. It turns out I needn’t have worried. Either I’m a brilliant accountant and finance person, or my wordpower was at such a peak during the assignment that I overcame all obstacles. My mark was 83 out of 100, a distinction grade, and I was so stoked when I found that out that I was on a high for the rest of the day (not to mention feeling a lot better about passing the unit overall than I had been before).

I’ve got the second part of the project and another take-home exam to go to complete the unit. Believe it or not I’ve had to ask them (you know, the uni-type them) to let me do the exam early because work is putting me through a three-day training course (and yes, on the same subject but from the point of view of how my company likes to do it) on the very same dates as the exam. They will let me, so that won’t be a drama, but you know what exams are like – always a bit of a worry.

Anyway, what is the biggest upside to doing homework? The looks on your children’s faces when they realise that you never really grow out of homework!

Cheerio!

2 thoughts on “Homework

  1. well at least those ice cream transactions set you up for success.

    personally, I am not buying ice cream any more now that I know its so involved.

    what exactly is the course you are studying?

Leave a Reply

