Role reversal

I have a friend and somewhat of a mentor at work who I really enjoy the company of. We have lunch together on most days, we chat several times during most days, I often ask his advice on corporate/business/ladder climbing issues and a lot of the time it is good advice. He is 20 years older than I am, and has often remarked that he sees a lot of his younger self in me.

Yesterday he asked if I would come for a beer after work (we live one suburb apart and probably do this once or twice a month), and I accepted, thinking it would be our usual chance to let off a little steam about the colleagues who caused us grief, and to laugh at the corporate world in a way we don’t dare do at work. Instead, he wanted my opinion on whether he should retire…..and he was serious. He wasn’t for a moment suggesting that the decision was hanging on what I thought, but he valued my opinion, and that made me feel really good.

We talked about the ins and outs of the situation, and I made a few comments here and there, but I told him I didn’t want to give an opinion off the cuff. This man has been with our company for nearly 30 years. I’ll think about if for a day or so and see what comes out.

Nice to be asked though.

Cheerio!

7 thoughts on “Role reversal

  1. Hmmmm……..some people work because they have to. Some do it because they know nothing else, and some can’t help themselves and work compulsively. I would need to have a stab at which one you are before advising.

  2. I ended up suggesting my friend should wait and think. After 29 years working for one company, I thought he could afford to take six months to think about whether he wanted to stay or go. So far, he has stayed.

Leave a Reply

